The corrupt* world of video game reviews – Part 1


Tired Old Hack

*which isn’t actually as corrupt as some people claim

Many people, myself included, would say game reviews are the most important part of being a games journalist.

We can write news articles, previews, blog pieces and the like about a game until we’re blue in the fingers, but all this coverage is mere hype building up to the ultimate question: is it any good?

Because of their importance, it’s also no surprise that reviews are the one aspect of games journalism that gets the most criticism and accusations thrown at it. Some of this is justified, much of it isn’t.

It sort of goes without saying that not all my reviews were this memorable Not all my reviews were this memorable, sadly

In my nine years at Future Publishing I wrote over 500 reviews: mostly for Nintendo games but also the occasional Xbox or PlayStation title. And I still regularly get bold souls telling me my opinion is ‘wrong’, as if I have anything…

View original post 4,397 more words

Leave a Reply

